The latest offering from Translation Recordings is a tidy EP from South London Producer Cid Poiter. I caught up with him recently for a bit of background on himself and the EP…

 

Could you give us a bit of background on yourself and how you got into production?

Sure. A little about me. I am a music lover first and foremost but not to the extent that I just merely listen to many genres of music, but more due to the fact that my heartbeat is measured in BPM. Sound system music and culture is a rich part of my upbringing having been lucky enough to have grown up in South London with its rich cultural melting pot of musical influences. I’ve been messing around with turntables (initially with an interest in turntablism) since the late 90’s but I was never really interested in production. My good school friend who has been making music since secondary school basically bugged me for over 15 years to start making music. I also had so many people asking me over the years why I don’t produce music. The turning point came when I was out with another friend of mine and we met a spiritual medium randomly in a coffee shop. To cut a long story short, without uttering a word to him, he pulled a crystal out of his pocket and told me that I was born to make music and I should allow this gift to manifest itself. Fast forward a few years and here I am. Hmm….now that I’m thinking about it, I’m starting to realise it was probably my friend disguised as the clairvoyant in that coffee shop all along! Doh.

 

Your new EP Afrique merges minimal dark vibes with an african influence, how did it come together?

It came together over a period of around 3 1/2 years. The basis of most of the tracks were some of my earlier experiments with sculpting a sound and learning production. On a subconscious level I think this EP also came at a time when I was feeling as though the roots that attracted me to Jungle music in the first place had been all but lost in modern drum and bass. Primarily the Jamaican sound system influence.

 

What are your weapons of choice in the studio?

I’ve got a fairly basic setup. I use Adam A7 monitors and Fostex TH-7B headphones. Software wise it’s Ableton with a small number of go-to synths, compressors and EQ’s. My main weapons are my percussive instruments. My preference is playing and recording my own percussion and recording my own sounds a lot of the time. I really like the subtle variation and natural sound that can be created by playing live instruments.

 

What new music are you feeling right now?

This is always a tricky question, as there is so much. Okay. I’ll give you a few things that I’ve heard recently that I’ve liked and a few I’ve been playing on my ipod recently (other personal audio players are also available so I’m told).

170bpm

Mono – Consciousness – Painfully catchy and groovy.

The Untouchables & Loxy ‘X-Gene’ – Depth personified with lovely percussion

Digital – Toll Free – A reminder of why I loved Jungle so much in the 90’s.

Other Tempos

Alina Baraz & Galimatias – Urban Flora EP – Unbelievably Lush Production

JME – WORK (Produced by Deeco) – Dubstep, Grime & Electronica in perfect equilibrium

Kahn – Over Deh So – Deep Medi at its finest.

 

Do you have anything else forthcoming you can tell us about?

Hmm….well my hope is to release a follow up EP with Translation at some point in the future as I have earmarked a few tracks for that already. Beyond that, I’m hoping to get into the studio with The Pussycat Dolls at some point as are they are really digging this deep minimal 170bpm thing and are looking to get involved.

Hahaha….only joking, but that would actually be quite funny if someone did that. I’m just busy working away in the studio putting in the (long) hours and enjoying the process of music making. Hopefully more opportunities will arise to share my music with those who love this sound in the future, as my ultimate goal is just to give my contribution to the progressive, forward-thinking sound system music community. I’ve met some of this most incredible people and lifelong friends through this music, so may it long continue.

Thanks for the interview guys, it’s been emotional.

P.S. If The Pussycat Dolls are reading this, feel free get in touch @cidpoitier

