Nu:sounds had a little chat with Dr Meaker about his forthcoming track Freaks. Due on Circus Records very soon…

 

How did you choose Dr Meaker as your artist name?

My surname is Meaker and the Dr part was a bit of a piss take.

 

What would you say are your influences are musically?

So much music! There’s nothing I won’t listen to at least once. The Prodigy & Massive Attack are two of my biggest inspirations but so much else from the past that has probably inspired them too. I also get inspired by new acts coming through, so anything and everything influences me.

 

Your next release on Circus, Freaks can you tell us about it?

‘Freaks’ came about when myself & Cappo D were doing a remix for someone. We decided the remix was too good to be a remix, so we said ‘Let’s make it our next single for Dr Meaker’.

Lorna King wrote the vocals and we got Sharlene Hector from Basement Jaxx to give it the ‘zing’ it needed. We love it and it goes off when we play it live.

June Miller from RAM has done a wicked remix too so check that out. It’s been getting a lot of love from Fricton and Mistajam plus loads more DJs at Radio 1. Also loads of DJ’s in the D&B scene have been supporting, so big ups to everyone getting involved.

 

June miller’s remix of Freaks is excellent, how much input if any do you have about who remixes your Music?

It varies depending on the record label. This time I submitted a long list of who i want to remix the track. In the end the label decided on the remixes and I went with it. I’m pretty opened minded about remixers and really like June Millers. That said I also like the Low Steppa and MyDon remixes. I’ve just finished a little VIP remix for my DJ sets, which I’m excited to play. Next DJ set is Love Saves The Day festival in Eastville Park, Bristol on May.

 

Finally, what can we expect from Dr Meaker in the future?”

We have an album coming on Circus Records later in the year and also a couple more singles before then. There’s remixes coming on Ministry of Sound (Fox Stevenson – Sweets) and 3 Beat (Preditah – Selecta).

We are Dj-ing and playing Live all over the place this summer so come check us. We bring Fire!

DIRT & SOUL.

DM

So if your feeling any of the tracks, don’t forget to support the Artists!!

 

 

