I have been a fan of these guy’s production for a while, so I am really happy to have this interview for Nu:sounds, these guy’s simply make excellent DNB.

How did Soligen & Type 2 come to be?

Chris:

Yeah, we just met through a mutual friend called Maz who introduced me to Ben and it all kind of formed from there.We got in the studio one day and we just clicked so we stuck at it, although the first track we ever started we never finished haha but we kept busy and have a steady flow of music!

Ben:

Long time ago now, Chris was looking for an MC on his mix and we started meeting up a couple of times over the course of a month.After a while I showed him a few bits I was working on and we arranged to start collabing.

 

Can you give any tips to any wannabe producers?

All we can say is do it for the love of the music.

Some of your recent releases have been excellent, you’re doing good things on the Citrus imprint, tell us about the next release?

Our next release is a vinyl release on Citrus Recordings called ‘Dissapionted’ it’s a bit of a heavy number with a crazy leading synth and lots of switches and changes of basslines.

 

What are some of your influences, in Scene or out?

Chris:

A lot of my musical influence comes from growing up listening to my dads records, waiting for him to go out so I could get his records out with out him knowing.Haha but I am fortunate to have all of them in my hands now from the likes of Muddy Waters , Led Zeppelin , The who, David Bowie , Hendrix and the list goes on! But now I look to the productions of Nosia, Break, DLR for there shear class production techniques!

Ben:

I guess people like Amon Tobin, Flying Lotus, Noisia are definitely up there but so is Seabound and BT.There are so many more I could mention though..

 

If you could work with anyone on a colab, who would it be and why?

Ben:

Anyone and everyone man, love at least trying to create things with other people.

Chris:

For me right now would love to collaborate with Xtrah and DLR, they both stand out with there skill, knowledge and ideas.Think they could definitely teach us a few new tips and tricks.

 

Are we going to be seeing you guys playing events, or will you be focusing more on the production?

Chris:

Well to be honest there haven’t been many gigs that have come our way although it would be great to start playing out more. So at the min it’s just production.

Ben:

Yeah.. production seems to be the best route for us for now.

 

Finally, what can we expect from you during 2015?

Chris:

Well, we have plenty of music going on and we are currently collaborating on a bit with Vandera which is sounding pretty hefty! Also working on an EP with Release which we are looking forward to finishing and getting that out there.

We have a few other projects which are hush hush but plenty to come from us this year!

Ben:

Working on loads like Chris said but I’ve got a few projects that I’m planning to release in the coming months, hope to also finish my Sonata Album.

 

If you don’t already know, now is the time to find out! Check this one of my favorite tracks from them,  check their back catalogue it has some tunes in there. BIG.

 

 

 

